Video Competition

This post is also available in: Français (French)

Saturday, March 16 – Sunday, March 17

International Video Competition

Salle Boris-Vian, Maison de la Culture, 1 Rue Abbé de l'Épée, Clermont-Ferrand

Screenings followed by audience discussion

Awards : Sunday, March 17, 7:30 p.m. – Salle Boris-Vian
Free entrance

In 2024, the video competition is :


Professional jury

Each year, VIDEOFORMES joins forces with its institutional partners to award 3 prizes: the Prix VIDEOFORMES de la Ville de Clermont-Ferrand, the Prix VIDEOFORMES du Conseil Départemental du Puy-de-Dôme and the Prix VIDEOFORMES de l’Université Clermont Auvergne.

The Émergences Vidéo – Pépinières Européennes de la Création Prize is awarded to a work by an artist under 36 years of age.


Born in 1971, USSR. Victoria Ilyushkina is an artist and curator, holding a diploma in Art History and Theory from the Academy of Fine Arts, as well as a diploma in New Media Programs from the Pro Arte Institute in St. Petersburg, Russia. Additionally, she has been a jury member for several international film and video festivals. Currently, Victoria is the program curator for the CYLAND Video Archive and International Cyfest video programs. Her curatorial research interests focus on studying the mutual influence and transition from analogue media in film and video art to digital media, along with its further transformation using 3D and AI technologies in time-based art.



Stéphane Le Garff, artistic director of Nyktalop Mélodie and the OFNI Festival, and a visual photographer, is developing a transmedia practice that explores the original materials on which the photographic and kinetic image is based, reviving its primary role of revealing invisible worlds. Through ongoing research into light, often crossed with the representation of the body and movement, his universe is nourished by visual games that are always produced by hand, using optical filters, transmedia, silver and digital tools or live performances.
He is also co-president of the ASTRE visual arts network in New Aquitaine and a lecturer at EMCA Angoulême.



Sung Nam HAN creates single channel videos, installations using blue background keying, AR photo /video works, art performances, and installations based on the theme of blue. She has staged a video x theater x dance art performance based on the concept of “Super Linear.”

She won the Excellence Award at Image Forum Festival, the Media Artist Award at Seoul International New Media Festival (NEMAF). She has had numerous solo and group exhibitions in Japan and abroad. She also directs and curates her own events related to interdisciplinary Art. First director of Japan Undersea Art Museum (JUAM), she is the representative of Interdisciplinary Art Festival Tokyo (2014-), Art in Country of Tokyo (2019-), and Interdisciplinary Art Project Kobe (2019-).



ABURIDASHI Assortment:Video letters written in invisible ink / Nonoho Suzuki / 2022 / Japan

Les cartes du champ de bataille / Florian Schonerstedt / 2023 / France

VIDEOFORMES Prize of the City of Clermont-Ferrand

Square the circle / Hanna Hovitie / 2022 / Finland

VIDEOFORMES Prize of the Conseil Départemental du Puy-de-Dôme

Celui qui voulait croire au Bison / Malo Lacroix / 2023 / France

Jury of the university clermont auvergne

With the support of the Clermont Auvergne University Culture Department, VIDEOFORMES invites three students to take part in the festival and attend the screenings. They work alongside the professional jury to independently award the Prix Université Clermont Auvergne des Étudiants (€1,000).

Emma Carvalho
Licence Arts du Spectacle (Université Clermont Auvergne – UFR LCSH)

Noémie Siblot
Licence Arts du Spectacle (Université Clermont Auvergne – UFR LCSH)

Amélie Papon
Master Expression Plastique, Ecole Supérieure d’Art de Clermont Métropole


Square the circle / Hanna Hovitie / 2022 / Finland

VIDEOFORMES Prize of the Université Clermont Auvergne

Hold on for dear life / Simone Fiorentino / 2023 / Italy

Émergences Vidéo Prize – Pépinières européennes de la Création

The Pépinières européennes (carried, since 2018, by Transcultures Europe and supported by the French Ministry of Culture), an international network promoting mobility and international collaborations between artists and cultural structures with a particular focus on emerging talent, creation/research relationships and intermedia practices, are joining forces with VIDEOFORMES to support young talent in today’s audio-visual and digital creation, by offering 3 prizes aimed at artists from any country aged under 36.

In addition to the prize (1st – €800, 2nd – €600, 3rd – €400), the winning entries will be promoted and distributed within the Transcultures Europe/Pépinières de Création network.

1st Prize Emergences Vidéo – Pépinières Européennes de Création

Via Dolorosa / Rachel Gutgarts / 2023 / France

2nd Prize Emergences Vidéo – Pépinières Européennes de Création

slaughter / Sahand Sarhaddi / 2023 / Iran, United-Kingdom

3rd Prize Emergences Vidéo – Pépinières Européennes de Création

CYCLEPATHS / Anton Cla / 2023 / Belgium


VIDEOFORMES welcomes the SCAM* (Société Civile des Auteurs Multimédias) Experimental Work Award, in the Emerging Writings and Forms category. Created in 2017, this prize is awarded to the author of a film chosen from a selection of works presented mainly at three festivals: the c’est trop court festival (Nice), the Festival international du court-métrage de Clermont-Ferrand and VIDEOFORMES (Clermont-Ferrand).

The jury is made up of Jean-Marc Chapoulie (artist, director, teacher, member of Scam’s EFE Committee), Clothilde Chamussy (video artist, author, member of Scam’s EFE Committee), Gala Hernández López (researcher, director, winner 2023 for La mécanique des fluides), Yosra Mojtahedi (artist, guest at La Scam Invite #10) and Vincent Ciciliato (artist, teacher, member of the VIDEOFORMES international video competition selection committee).

Prix Scam de l’Oeuvre Expérimentale

512 x 512 / Arthur Chopin / 2023 / France / La Fémis

Capture d’écran 2024-03-20 à 12.32.13

Selection committee (choice of videos for official selection) : Éric André-Freydefont, Camille Barbot, Marie-Sylviane Buzin, Vincent Ciciliato, Roxane Delage, Stéphane Haddouche, Mariko Koetsenruijter, Florent Labarre, Amélie Servant, Gabriel Soucheyre

Partager :

Pinterest >